1. Malicious Designs

1. Malicious Designs

Book 1 of Cogs. When a tech salvager is caught between a vicious dragon and a god’s malicious foot soldiers, he's dragged into a mystery that defines the rest of his life...

1.1 The Dragon’s Eye

1.2 Taral

1.3 Electrical Interference

1.4 Lord of Nothing

1.5 Lancity Tech

1.6 Sprung

1.7 Dualist

1.8 Leaving Taral

1.9 The Wastelands

1.10 Vanilla Ice Cream

1.11 Zin

1.12 Cogs and Fairy Dust

1.13 Any Port in a Storm

1.14 Precautions

1.15 The Job

1.16 The Beacon

1.17 Tourist

1.18 Beads

1.19 Fizzles

1.20 Foolish Exposure

1.21 Wetware

1.22 Other Worlds

1.23 Hot and Fast

1.24 Unpleasant Realities

1.25 Familiar Faces

1.26 The Hunted

1.27 Sand and Dust

1.28 Heads Up

1.29 Laurill fi’Simil

1.30 Birthday Surprise

1.31 Useless Gestures

1.32 Thorn Chi’Mikkel Bondsan

1.33 The Easy Road

1.34 Twenty-Three Wasted Years

1.35 Shadow-Walker

1.36 Childproof

1.37 Bullet Wounds

1.38 Unbound

1.39 Gabe

1.40 Macabre Machines

1.41 Trust but Verify

1.42 One Step Forward, Two Steps Back

1.43 Undeniable Compulsions

1.44 Obfuscation

1.45 Blockade

1.46 Distracting the Enemy

1.47 False Assumptions

1.48 Gathered Fragments

1.49 Deception and Dreams

1.50 Zin’s Gift

1.51 Mutually Assured Destruction

1.52 The Wizard and the Cadre

Malicious Designs Footnotes

New chapters in Malicious Designs

The players, scoundrels, and gods of Malicious Designs:

  • Ariel Chi’Thorn Bondsan: A member of Thorn Chi’Mikkel Bondsan’s cadre.
  • Avril Ethanson: A young man who was raised salvaging tech in the wastelands.
  • Baram: A vulture who wanders the wastelands.
  • Beads: A motorist who breaks down in the Damarian desert.
  • Ethan: The man who raised Avril.
  • Framan: Somebody hunters and cadres are looking for.
  • Gabe: A hunter with a talent for sniping.
  • Laurill: A young woman with a talent for finding hidden information.
  • Maxian: A dualist, and the son of Tralit d’Arathan.
  • Merle Chi’Thorn Bondsan: A member of Thorn Chi’Mikkel Bondsan’s cadre.
  • Mikkel Chi’Maiten Chosen, Lord: The Lord of Damar. Maiten’s chosen.
  • Milo: A Damarian tech trader.
  • Thorn Chi’Mikkel Bondsan: The first-sworn of a Damarian cadre.
  • Topher Chi’Thorn Bondsan: A member of Thorn Chi’Mikkel Bondsan’s cadre.
  • Tralit d’Arathan: The terrible black dragon.
  • Unidentified vulture: An elderly vulture who wanders the wastelands.
  • Zin: A young woman who claims to dream of alternate realities.

The chronological order of the books and events in Cogs up to Malicious Designs:

  • ‍14/08/490: The Cleansing
  • ‍28/13/515: 1. Malicious Designs

1. Malicious Designs

2. Discarded Gods

3. Brotherhood’s Curse

4. The Tyrant’s Throne

5. The Bastard Cadre

6. Zealots and Ascendants

7. The Mad God’s Playground

8. The Godslayers’ Legacy

9. The Lord of Frake’s Defiance

10. The Dead God’s Shadow

11. Taunting the Devil